Easy Taco’s

Hello Everyone, the recipe I will be showing you today is  ( drum roll) Taco’s ahhh I just love them, the name alone get’s my attention! taco’s you say, I’m in, ever since I can remember, I would make my weekly run to Taco – Bell, as I got older and a tad bit more health conscious, I realized I could make these delectable  crunchy treats at home, using fresh ingredients, and whenever I wanted.  I’m starting to get hungry, so let’s gather up our ingredients, and get cooking! I don’t use any special brands when making this particular dish, the ingredients are really quite basic, and you really could just buy whatever is on sale, and since you  will be adding fresh produce, you know it will be good.

063

First I chop up some fresh tomatoes, lettuce, and onions, I always add onions, to the beef, it gives it much more flavor and texture, but it is not necessary if you would prefer not too.

001

I like to get all the toppings ready before I cook up the meat, after I chop everything, I put it into bowls, along with the shredded cheese.

007

Now it’s time to brown up our chop meat, I added I/4 cup of onions to mine, and a clove of garlic, and a dash of salt and pepper, I will be using a packet of taco seasonings, so I don’t need any more spices. once the meat is browned, drain it, than add your seasoning packet, 3/4 cup of water,

053

Mix everything in good and continue to simmer, until some of the water evaporates, and you get a nice consistency, the meat should look like this,

061

That’s it remove from heat, pour meat into a serving bowl, set up all your garnishes and enjoy!

006

I served mine with hard and soft taco shells, I also like to put sour cream on them as well, put out whatever toppings you like and your family will make theirs however they like, ( little tip) to make the sour cream come out nice I put it in a cute little dispenser, but you don’t have to buy one, you can just put it in a sandwich bag, and cut a small hole in the tip. that’s it, now enjoy these wonderful taco’s

033

Ingredients:

1-2 lbs. of chop meat
1 large tomato roughly chopped
1 half a head of lettuce shredded
1 package of shredded cheese, any kind you like
1 onion finely chopped
1 clove of garlic
1 package of hard taco shells
1 package of soft taco shells
1/2 cup of sour cream ( optional)
1/2 cup of salsa for topping ( optional)
1 package of taco seasoning, ( you can also buy a kit) it comes with the shells, seasonings, and salsa look in the international aisle in your grocery store.

Preparation:
Chop, the tomato, and put in a bowl
Chop the onion, set aside
Put cheese in a bowl
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
Set up any other toppings you are using
Brown chop meat, onion, and garlic clove
Drain meat and return to stove, add seasoning packet and 1/2 cup of water, mix together, bring to a simmer a few minutes until some of the water is evaporated, and the sauce has a nice consistency.
Warm up your taco shells according to package directions, put the hard tacos on a baking sheet and put them in your Preheated oven following package instructions.
Now set everything on the table, and let everyone help themselves. OLE”

4 thoughts on “Easy Taco’s

    • Thank you so much Dawn, I am new to blogging, and I am trying to figure it all out, I also have been enjoying your writing posts, and I appreciate the support! : )

  1. Yum! A variation would be to skip the taco seasoning, and while browning the meat with onion and garlic, add a couple pinches of each dried basil and oregano. Then once meat is cooked and drained of fat, add a can of (drained) diced tomatoes and a healthy teaspoon of cumin. Years ago I read those seasoning packets are filled with MSG and sodium, so once I read the spices in the packets, I came up with this! Now I’m totally craving tacos : )

    • Wow, Great advice Connie, I will have to try it out! I some times make fresh salsa and top my taco’s with that as well, thank you for commenting, I appreciate your advice and will try it!

Leave a comment