Daily Prompt: Exhale

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright

MY MOM THE STROKE AND A NEW PERSPECTIVE

Tulips

It was November 2009 Thanksgiving had just passed, and it was 2 days after black Friday, I was at work at the time, and really was not used to getting any personal phone calls at work, after all, I had a cell phone, which is how people normally got in touch with me, as I was getting ready to leave for the day, one of my co-workers had exclaimed that I had a phone call it was waiting for me in the office, how odd I thought, nobody calls me at work, so you could imagine the butterflies that were turning in my stomach, as I reached for the telephone,

On the other end of the phone, was my sister, who voice was not one I had easily recognized, the anxiety, the fear, the whole of the unknown, had reduced my usually rational sibling, into the rant and ravings of a voice that had sounded more suitable belonging to a toddler, she sounded like a baby, as she wailed and screamed, it’s Mom, I think she’s had a stroke, blackness engulfed over me, as I felt at that very instance my heart being ripped out of my chest, I fell to the floor, truly inconsolable, as I sat there wailing, one of my dear friends who had been there with me in the office, had the right frame of mind, to call my husband, he shortly arrived, and was able to get the information needed to get to the hospital, and where we needed to go, he lifted me off of the floor, and into his arms and carried me to the car,

As he started to drive to the hospital, I looked at my husband and sobbed, No not my mom, she’s too young,  I can’t lose her, I just can’t!  at 66 years old, my mom seemed to me the picture of health, she worked, kept an impeccable home, babysits for her grandchildren, helps out my sister’s with their houses and such, it just seemed impossible just 2 days before, she had hosted thanksgiving at her home, and rivaled a feast equal to one prepared by Martha Stewart herself,  at the time, I really did not know too much about someone having a stroke, I have heard the word before, and I associated it with, death, being paralyzed, memory loss, I was ignorant, regarding this disease, it was not a good thing, I knew that for sure,

When we arrived at the hospital, I wasn’t allowed in the room where my mom was right away, I was informed, that the doctor was in with her, and I would have to wait, finally when the words I had been waiting to hear, ever since I got that dreadful phone-call, ” you can go in and see your mom now” arrived, I went into a dream like state, trying to prepare my self for what ever was to be, on the other side of that curtain, I imagined my mom, my hero, my best friend, would not even remember, my name, or who I even was, I pulled myself together, and vowed for my mom’s sake, I would be strong, and not break down in front of her, or upset her or any other member of my family,

When I walked in to see my mom, my eyes, looked over her in silence, her face, wasn’t drooping, she didn’t look much different, I put my hand in hers and was surprised when she squeezed it tightly, she looked up at me, and said, ” Annmarie, ( Sigh of relief) she knows who I am, Did you see the doctor they brought into me, now that is a fine-looking man, I don’t think I ever laughed so hard in my life, but I somehow knew in that instance, everything was going to be o.k.

It’s been 4 years since MoM had her stroke, she suffered permanent paralysis on her left side, but she is ALIVE and she is here with us, with the love and support of her children, she was able to remain in her home, it is a pleasure to care for her, and give back what she has given to us her whole life. I remember when I first heard the news, I silently vowed, if given the chance, I would be different, and I can honestly say I AM, something in that moment changed me forever, I appreciate my life more and the people around me I don’t take a single thing for granted, somehow the sun is brighter in the mornings, and the flowers smell sweeter, I don’t mind long lines, and traffic isn’t such a big deal, I smile at people walking by, and always have something kind to say, and when my Mom came over last week, and said to me, isn’t it a beautiful day today? I said, Yes mom it is, and I think to myself, Everything is going to be o.k.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/daily-prompt-safety/

26 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Exhale

    • You are very welcome, My mom is my world, and I hoped I could show people, that love and family are what is important in life, don’t sweat the small stuff! thank you for reading, and commenting, it means so much to me!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    • Thank you Connie, it’s funny how easily you can take life and others for granted, Family and friends and Love is what is important in life, I have learned to appreciate what I do have, and I am richer for it!

Leave a Reply

